ftse.PNG
    87.2 KB · Views: 2,200
Technical Chart for FTSE- 06/30/2009 with levels

FTSE technical - Support and Resistance levels as shown on the screen shot,

Attachments

• FTSE.PNG
    FTSE.PNG
    151.1 KB · Views: 1,250
I'm an idiot newbie I'm afraid so please excuse the really dumb question ...

How can an index have a support or resistance level ? Surely the point of these levels is they are what the market feels is the minimum / maximum value that the stock (or currency) is actually worth and therefore are real barriers to price penetration. The index is an aggregation of 100 different stocks, with a 100 different support / resistence levels with 100 different sets of fundamentals and 100 different daily price movements. Why would the index have these psychologically enforced levels ?

Can an index be traded with the same technical analysis interpretation as an individual stock, currency or commodity as all you've really got is a lot of random volatility on top of a background macro trend ?

Again I apologise for my uninitiated question but I've lost a few quid spread betting on the FTSE and think maybe I've been trying to read too much into it.

Thanks

-Andrew

index have s&r levels

I'm an idiot newbie I'm afraid so please excuse the really dumb question ...

How can an index have a support or resistance level ? Surely the point of these levels is they are what the market feels is the minimum / maximum value that the stock (or currency) is actually worth and therefore are real barriers to price penetration. The index is an aggregation of 100 different stocks, with a 100 different support / resistence levels with 100 different sets of fundamentals and 100 different daily price movements. Why would the index have these psychologically enforced levels ?