Forex Price Action Setups - AUD/USD Squeeze Happening? June 27th

2ndSkiesForex

Newbie
9 1
AUDUSD
After bouncing and continuing higher from the pin bar we mentioned yesterday, the 1hr chart on the Aussie looks like the bulls are squeezing out the bears trying to take out the short term resistance at 1.0089. Although the bounce off the oversold lows the other day has the presence of being more corrective than impulsive, the short term picture although timid favors more upside.

We just climbed for 3hrs in a row and the 20ema continues to underpin this pair on pullbacks, with no close below it since yesterday. The recent doji right above the prior close highs at 1.0076 looks like the final presence of the bears being pushed out, thus we are favoring an upside break by early Tokyo trading. Upside targets are 1.0110 and 1.0130 while protection below the 20ema. A breakdown here would need to take out 1.0045 which would suggest more unwinding.

price action squeeze 2ndskiesforex june 27th.jpg

Global Market Commentary:
Global stocks rose solidly as US durable goods and pending home sales surprised to the upside favorably giving a short term positive note to chew on. The Euro continues to be pressured as it appears another country might be asking for a bailout soon (Slovenia - shortly after Cyprus just did).

European leaders are still at a stalemate with Monti threatening if he doesn't get his Eurobonds (read he needs them to bailout Italy's €1T of debt) while Frau Merkel continues with the Nein Mantra also pushing aside calls from Spain for action as well. This trader doubts the Euro Summit will achieve anything meaningful or substantial and when this doesn't the Euro will be under more pressure.

The DOW gained 92pts or .74% while Crude finally rose above the $80 figure.

FYI a lot of economic announcements tomorrow so expect some strong volatility.

Upcoming Economic Announcements:

AUD HIA New Home Sales (MoM) 01.00GMT 21.00EST
NZD NBNZ Business Confidence 01.00GMT 21.00EST
EUR German June Unemployment 01.30GMT 21.30EST
GBP Nationwide House Prices 06.00GMT 02.00EST
GBP Gross Domestic Product (YoY) 08.30GMT 04.30EST
EUR Euro-Zone Business Climate 09.00GMT 05.00EST
USD Gross Domestic Product 12.30GMT 08.30EST
 
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

But it's thanks to our sponsors that access to Trade2Win remains free for all. By viewing our ads you help us pay our bills, so please support the site and disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock