Forex Applications

ronyjoseph

Firstly I'm new to his forum and trading forex, so Hi everyone :D

Ok so my question:

"What applications do you use to perform technical analysis on forex pairs prior to trading ?" :

* How are the online trading charts - provided by IG and CMC etc compared to full applications.

* Is there an app out there you can "pretend" to trade from past data to see how many pips you would have gained or lost.

* What are the costs of these apps.

I currently use Sharescope Pro (for Ftse350), however it does do Forex aswell but I hear there are better tools out there.

Thanks and Happy trading :smart:
Rony

Firstly I'm new to his forum and trading forex, so Hi everyone :D

Ok so my question:

"What applications do you use to perform technical analysis on forex pairs prior to trading ?" :

MetaTrader 4

* How are the online trading charts - provided by IG and CMC etc compared to full applications.

Never used 'em

* Is there an app out there you can "pretend" to trade from past data to see how many pips you would have gained or lost.

This is called backtesting. You can do with lots of packages but generally need to be able to do a bit of programming - Metatrader 4 allows you to do it but I've never learnt the code - but it's very popular and there are lots of forums where people post stuff up - including this site! (See the Metatrader forum in the forex section)

* What are the costs of these apps.

FREE!!! Just do a google search on it and you can download it and get a demo account for free. ProRealtime is good also and free for daily time frame and higher

I currently use Sharescope Pro (for Ftse350), however it does do Forex aswell but I hear there are better tools out there.

Thanks and Happy trading :smart:
Rony

See above - my replies in red. Hope this helps

Last edited:

CMC Markets and IG Index's charts can do this; you need to look under Tools for IG, get the proper charting stuff, but they can.