Crossroads

cs99rrf

Hey there,

I am 23 years old, and just finshed my MSc in computing in September. I worked as a pre-sales consultant for 2 months and recently quit. The reason being is that I wanted to give day trading a shot full time before I commit myself to a career in IT.

I've dabbled in the stockmarket for about 2 years, to fund uni life, and all the alcohol that goes with it. I've even thought about doing another master in finance, or just doing the trading qualifications. I've got about 8 grand to get me started, but am I making a mistake ? Should I go back into IT ? Or should I do a professional trading course ? I also know how difficult it is to get a job in a bank these day, especially for a graduate. Or should I just go backpacking and forget about it all ?

Any words of wisdom will be appreciated

:confused:

These are my own personal views so ignore as you wish. My thoughts are:-

1) £8k isn't enough capital to get someone up and running to consistant profitability trading for themselves.
2) The best education in trading is doing it for real so training/masters etc won't help.
3) Working in a bank is not the same as trading for yourself.
4) Backpacking sounds like a good idea followed by IT (could do it in a markets enviroment), and trading part time unitl you're consistantly profitable, then you'll have a career to fall back on if it all goes wrong.

Well, you did ask!! Others may have different views. I woudn't necessarily follow my own advice.

sounds like you need experience of life more than anything else. whether you work in mcdonalds flipping burgers, travel the work or sit punching keys in IT doesn;t matter until you face up to your fears and get a grip on what you want from your life.

crikey did i write that...?

Ste1

first, go backpacking, take a break and enjoy