career as a trader-what qualifications do I need?

killbillgr21

I am really into stock market and I want to do it professionally in the future. The thing is that I am studying Business Enterprise Systems (it is about economics and IT for businesses)and I am wondering if this is the right course for a career as a trader. Can you tell me what qualifications do I need, in order to give my an advantage to get into a firm in the future?

Not to put you down, but most trading firms would be looking for courses with a tonne of maths, so obviously maths/economics/finance/physics are the obvious ones.

TBH though, being a maths genius from a target university is mostly for IB, to get into prop trading at a prop firm, e.g. Futex, less emphasis in on academic ability and more on trading skill- so if you can show an account statement showing you can beat the markets over a year or two, with a good sharpe ratio etc , should MORE than complement for a non mathsy degree.

To re-iterate my point, Futex have started hiring 18 year olds with just A levels

Last edited:
You do not need any qualifications to be a trader. However, if you wish to do it professionally (and be hired or backed) you will need to demonstrate personality traits to your "employer" that make you stand out from the crowd.
Futex get hundreds of applications a month, so ask yourself, what can I do to make the employer pick me over everyone else.
The good news is. Its not all about certificates.

Demonstrate passion, dedication and drive and you will be impressive.