Best FTSE / DOW Indicators?

OlympicBlue

Like many here I am new to this and would welcome any advice on what indicators I could or should be applying for day trading the FTSE & DOW?

I have looked at the forum in depth and the array of opinions differ enormously almost to the point where I have written down and copied so much information my head hurts!

To date I have only paper traded FTSE & DOW day charts using trend lines to establish directional movement /moving trends for the possible buy/sell positions.

From what I have read etc. my prefernce would then be to buy or sell the position with a spread betting firm like I G Ind'x.

Any help advice would be greatly appreciated.

Lol there is so such good stuff on this the only problem is finding it. IMO as a new trader my advice would be to watch the market and learn its patterns and price action to begin with. Then Id really work out a plan as discipline and money manaegment are the most important things to learn. A simple moving average can reap rewards if used correctly.

I really wouldnt know where to begin,have you a data feed,what times scale are you wanting to trade,how many trades a day,are you just spread betting indexes etc.etc

I really wouldnt know where to begin,have you a data feed,what times scale are you wanting to trade,how many trades a day,are you just spread betting indexes etc.etc

Julian,

Thanks for responding, here are some answers to your questions:-

Basically, at the moment I have been ‘paper trading’ the FTSE & DOW utilising ADVFN’s site to monitor FTSE & DOW movement using the feed and charting services that they provide. The FTSE is a delayed feed (15min) and the DOW feed is live.

The charts have various tools that can be applied but presently I have only used the most basic of these such as setting up parallel lines/fans etc. to establish trending bands and a sense of direction with consideration also given to market sentiment, news, announcements etc.