Backtesting Stock Option strategies

JamieLarin

Hello,
I am a bit new to options trading and I have a few ideas how to start my trading. I have used some stock screeners to find a good optionable stocks. I am also using these to build vertical credit spread strategies where reward is 10-20% vs risk
and breakeven point is far from existing stock price. I am also considering using simple Long Call options but not sure which strategy is better.

Does any one know a good tool for backtesting option strategies? Ideally not expensive and simple to use.

The problem with option back testing is the sheer number of strikes and expiration months for a data provider. I purchased a few thousand dollars of option data several years ago and built a simple tool for my needs, but it was not easy to use or keep updated.

A friend of mine started Quanty Carlo, which is an option back testing tool. They are in beta at the moment but should have something released later this year. It has a really nice looking interface and is probably going to be a fantastic tool. I know it won't be free...probably under $50 or $100 per month to use it.

If you have OptionVue, OptionNET Explorer or a brokerage account at Think Or Swim, you can use their option back testing tools to back test. It's more manual than Quanty Carlo (which isn't available quite yet).

Hello,
I am a bit new to options trading and I have a few ideas how to start my trading. I have used some stock screeners to find a good optionable stocks. I am also using these to build vertical credit spread strategies where reward is 10-20% vs risk
and breakeven point is far from existing stock price. I am also considering using simple Long Call options but not sure which strategy is better.

Does any one know a good tool for backtesting option strategies? Ideally not expensive and simple to use.

Hi,