Anyone tried ActiveQuant?

canterburry

Hi,

I have over the last year spent some time getting familiar with ActiveQuant (activequant.org). I am a software engineer by trade so programming is no problem, its the finance stuff I find challenging.

Has anyone tried this software? You pretty much need to be a very proficient programmer but if you got that, the sky is the limit as to what you can do. I am not using it for anything live yet but I wanted to see if anyone here had tried it out and had any good/bad experiences?

Thanks
-HC

Hi,
Are there any web or desktop apps that actually use the ActiveQuant framework that you are aware of?

It looks interesting, and I have been working as a developer with java and web based portfolio apps - and would be interested in seeing what it can do

Cheers,

T

I am not familiar with any UI apps that uses this code. One of the founders works for a hedge fund in Europe and I believe they developed the code for their own uses and then made it open source. With AQ you don't get a canned trade system but it gives you most tools you need to automate any trade system you can think of...if you know how to code.

Hello,

I had once to review the source code of the "activequant" when the trading company I was working for decided to hire the founder of that project. Despite the outcome of the review (unusable code) he was hired and I had the unfortunate event of having to personally work with him.

I seriously doubt such source code has ever been used in any production trading system, it is the biggest spaghetti ever. You can browse and review the code in cvs following links from this page http://www.activestocks.de/?q=node/210 At most you will find some bits of wisdom or small utilities but not much more than that.