anyone already using my 4 option strategy ideas?

starmine777

hi all,

i have a few option strategies concepts in mind that i haven't really backtested/drilled into details but just wondering if anyone out there is already employing these strategies and willing to share the experience (or if u see any flaws pls point out too). my apology if someone else already discussed these in other threads (as i'm a newbie to the forum) and if u can point me to those threads that'd be great as well.

strategy 1 - pattern recognition (tech analysis) + option
e.g. whenever i see a weekly reversal candlestick say in SPY (assume signal is bearish) then i will do a bear call spread. reason for not doing a outright short or long put instead is that in this strategy i want to have some buffer as the reversal may be false signal. i understand instead of high risk/reward ratio in the outright/long put case i will get a bad risk/reward ratio with higher win% , but personally i prefer a high prob strategy (of coz i have to work out a positive expectation from backtesting).
i actually think lots of traders are doing this on the outright/long put basis but is there anyone using credit spread/short call, etc as entry instead or is this a losing game?

strategy 2 - trend following + covered call/put