Another s/b question I'm afraid......

Trender

G'day all....

I've only recently discovered this site and I'm most impressed. Good to see sensible stuff about trading.

I'm a one time swing trader of shares, who now finds himself increasingly drawn towards intraday trading, specifically index futures. However before I start parting with the big bucks I want to open a spreadbet account, more than anything just to explore at first hand all the horror stories I hear.

My question is, although CMC offer tighter spreads, it would seem to me that Finspreads at least give you the option of confirming the position at a specific price, rather than the CMC method of requoting in their favour, which can actually make the spread much bigger. I've free trialed the CMC system, but it appears to me a case of gloss over substance, IMHO. Surely the ability to confirm or cancel at a specific price is the most important option?

Sorry to bring up the s/b issue again, but I'm genuinely interested on peoples' thoughts/experience of this. (And I do realise that spreadbetting is totally in the bookies favour btw.)

Interested in your thoughts....

Hi Trender,

Check out JPWones site on Spreadbetting:

http://212.38.89.86/spreads/

There he outlines a system for helping to beat the spreads. Takes a lot of the advantages back from the firms.
Personally I like D4F and have closed my Fins account. Since I only trade with small bets £1 a point I am unable to use Fins stops system. Trading without stops to me is like jumping out of a plane with no parachute :)

I don't find the requote system on D4F a big problem and I trade both Dow and FTSE with them.

HTH

Dig around my posts, Trender. Email me If you want to know how to set this up. I can only tell you about the dow, but there are tricks you should know before you get going

Helenqu and Chartman. Many thanks for the info - much appreciated. Chartman, I'll have a look through your postings then drop you an e-mail if you don't mind.