Another new trader. A few questions. :)

Xylitol

Hi, this is my first post on this forum.

I'm a complete newbie to trading. I've read some of the essential threads about tips for new, inexperienced traders. Honestly, most of it sounds extremely scary. I've got a few questions that I didn't get from the threads:

Everyone says don't focus on the money. Instead, learn to trade well and the money will naturally follow. Which is fair enough. It goes on to talk about having a trading "plan". But what plan do I need? How do I actually know what to invest in and what not to invest in? How do people actually decide what to buy and what to sell? What market indicators do they use? There seems to be no mention of this in any of the threads I've read. All it tells me is I should "have a plan", whatever that means. So I'm pretty confused.

I also read that unless you can compete with computer trading programs and experts who work for big trading firms, you're going to lose money. That's worrying. What's the point in getting into trading if you're competing against computers who will always be better than you?

Thanks for any help people can give. :)

Thanks for the link. Is that a course anyone can take up? And do you have to pay for it?

Would love to hear some more opinions from other people, both on the link above and my questions.

Thanks for the link. Is that a course anyone can take up? And do you have to pay for it?

Would love to hear some more opinions from other people, both on the link above and my questions.

I believe they take on grads and train them whilst on a training salary but they also accept anyone who will pay.

Ok. I did graduate with a degree in Economics, which might be relevant? I also live in the UK.

What is your current career path? imo it isn't viable to rely on earnings from trading if you are new to the business. So you either need to find a trading related job where you can learn and earn OR educate yourself whilst you are working.