"Absorb what is useful..."

esscubed

"... Discard what is useless."

My favourite quote from my favourite icon, the late great Bruce Lee, and highly relevant I think.

I'm just starting out on T2W so thought I'd track my progress with a journal.

Partly to help me to stay disciplined, and also to make sure I don't miss any important steps. I will add more background info on me when its relevant but really just want to note my starting point, what I am reading, and what I haven't so I know where I'm up to.

At the moment I am existing on a pretty poor excuse for a laptop, and using delayed data from Google finance and their portfolio tool to keep track of a few shares I own (disastrous details later...), so I'm going to be starting from near scratch, choosing hardware, software, data feed and broker, as well as learning how to trade proficiently.

To date, threads I've read;
What are the pros and cons of Spreadbetting versus CFDs?
Can you recommend a data feed, charting software, & broker?
Realistically, how much money can I expect to make?
I'm new to Trading - where do I start?
How much money does a trader need to start trading? (short ans)
Essentials of 'first steps'

And I'm going to start having a look at some articles, first steps threads, and other threads next.

In the past I've read a few relevant books, I studied some market basics in an international finance module of a business MSc, did an IFS Diploma in financial markets and management whilst working at a corporate bank and I'm part way through self-studying the IMC at the moment.

The best books were;
Nasim Nicolas Taleb - Fooled By Randomness
James Surowiecki - The Wisdom Of Crowds
Robbie Burns - The Naked Trader

And I certainly feel like a starving artist :D so thats a good indication right? (joke)