A Little Advice...?

Hollu$

Evening all.

So today I was looking for a little advice, and was hoping I could get some here!
About me first...I'm 21, in my 2nd year of my Degree, work for HSBC part time, been researching/small trading for about 18 months now.

I have recently applied for the executive management trainee graduate scheme with hsbc. My plan was to finish that (lasts 2 years and you get a Degree in Finance after) and then apply for trainee stockbroker jobs.

But I am concerned...my Degree is not related to finance/business/accounting/economics at all. In fact...it is so far south - it amazes people.

If and when I come to apply for trainee stockbroking jobs - will be my degree in a field that could not be connected to this area in any shape or form, going to hold me back?

I asked my University in the 1st year to change to Finance and Investments...but they said no as it was too different, and warned me if I dropped out to re-start, I wasnt guaranteed a position.

For the HSBC graduate scheme I have applied for - they will consider you providing you have at least a 2:1 in any field.
But I'm concerned about what will happen after with the trainee stockbroker jobs.
Oh...and I am also about to start studying for my SII exams, I rang up yesterday and ordered the first lot of books!

Could anyone provide me with any help at all?
I would appreciate anything!

Many thanks - Holly :)

You can get a job as a trainee stockbroker with a degree in farming, or none at all. You might not believe me, but I know several people without degrees who have walked into such jobs; lots of companies looking for another phone jockey, they will just plonk you down with a list of numbers and tell you to start dialing. I really dont' see why you'd want to go from a grad program at HSBC to this; if however you're talking about being involved in sales at another institution, that's another kettle of fish, and you'd be best off speaking to Goose or GJ.