15 bps profit per day...

musslewhite

How realistic is to get a profit of an average of 15 bps (after commissions) profit per day, obviously I imagine there will be good days and bad, but the overall average to be around 15 bps of profit per day?... I have been running models and paper trading for the past 5 months and AT LEAST IN PAPER it appears to be attainable... but all of you REAL traders please tell me... am I building castles in the air or is a 30% annual return something that is doable.

I am not using leverage and trading US stocks only.

Thank you in advance guys.

At 200 trading days a year, htat's 34%, I think that sounds like roughly what warren buffet has acheived... so possible, yes. Especially when you have many adavantages he doesn't. As well as disadvantages he doesn't. Work towards the advantages here.

but all of you REAL traders please tell me... am I building castles in the air or is a 30% annual return something that is doable.

pfft! 30% annual return?! there are threads on here claiming to make 100% per month !! :LOL:

pfft! 30% annual return?! there are threads on here claiming to make 100% per month !! :LOL:

I know,and I respect those opinions, the 100% threads might be talking about using leverage and risking a bit more than I am willing to...

I know,and I respect those opinions, the 100% threads might be talking about using leverage and risking a bit more than I am willing to...

I understand - I was just playin' around. :)

In reality though, it is quite possible to get 15 bps per day but without leverage, it would be difficult. If you haven't traded with real money yet, then I would also recommend you not use leverage to trade until you've got a feel of trading with real money.