Women who trade

dobbor

Hi
I'm a journalist interested in talking to women who trade in groups. Ideally, they would meet as a group at one person's home and discuss spread betting etc over a bottle of wine....
I understand these groups have great success than the fellas!
Please get in touch if you would like to feature in a glossy women's weekly title and are happy to be photographed and interviewed.
Thanks for your help,
Best
Rachel
[email protected]

Rachel, good luck with your research, but I'd be surprised (and interested) if you locate any such group.

Women tend to be in a minority still in the retail trading world. While the 'chatting about spread-betting over a bottle of wine' scenario sounds cosy (count me in) - it also seems a little alien - even for women!

It's a largely solitary pursuit and doesn't in my experience lend itself well to group activity. Discussion possibly - but not actually trading.

It's a biological fact that women can process verbal and non-verbal thought streams in parallel (find me a woman who can't listen to more than one conversation at a time) so in theory, group trading would likely be more possible and certainly more attractive to the socially oriented gender than it would be for us guys, but even with a group (on t2w) of around 30,000, I think you might be disappointed.

From your website you seem to be looking for the one-in-a-million angle so just finding a successful spread-better (female or otherwise) would be a coup.

Kidding - just kidding....! :cool:

Rachel
Over the years I have only ever heard that women make better investors than men, not traders.
If there is some evidence that they are better traders then I have never seen it.
The reason that they make better investors is that they are more careful and less inclined to leap in and out of investments and by so doing allow the slow rise in the overall markets to do the work for them over time.

Glenn