Why aren't my Limit Orders filled? A PATS System issue? + other newbie questions!

powerbook

I have started trading ES with Global Futures using Ninja Trader connected under PATS.

I have some basic questions.

Say I have a limit order to sell 5 contracts at 1200.25.

Price is happily flashing away at 1200.25 with the odd flash at 1200.50.

I am still not getting filled.

Suddenly price trades up to 1200.75 and I am filled.

Can someone explain why this is?

Does price have to surge through my limit JUST for me to get filled?

I have read somewhere that PATS connection is slow but the piece didn't define "what" was slow.

If it *is* a PATS issue I will move to somewhere that offers NT on a different connection or maybe use Alaron that offers Trade Maven. But if this is just par for the course it's not worth the hassle of moving.

Note: I am new to this game and am having trouble understanding this point. I mean, price could happily flash at 1200.50 for a few minutes and I will STILL not be filled even if it's only say 1 contract.

Thanks.

Last edited:
remember that entering a limit order means you join the back of the "fifo" queu... if you look at the size on the bid/ask - on ES you will usually see at least several hundred, if not several thousand orders listed before yours.

This means all those orders have to be filled before yours - a lot of market orders, if you are entering a limit order, be prepared to wait for price to trade most of the bid/ask before you get a fill - and if most of it trades, price will usually trade through that price.

getting filled