What is a sensible level of risk???

nathan88

Hey guys

I am new to trading and am at the moment doing some studies before jumping in. I am familiar with the concept of trading with a risk reward ratio but am unsure as to which level i should set my risk. I will be starting off with swing trading. I will be using a leveraged account with a 5% margin and plan on being a pretty conservative trader. I am trying to come up with a trading plan and was thinking that my risk or R would be set at the 5% of the stock value. eg. if it was a $100 stock my stop would be set no lower than $95, which if i stopped out would be kind of like losing my own money (if i avoid slippage). is this a sensible strategy and should i look ONLY for oppurtunities where this is possible or is this a bogus concept???

i have watched some training videos but they did not mention this.

The so-called "risk:reward" ratio is an illusion. Unless you have some way of determining the probabilities of reaching your reward and of paying your risk obligations, there's no point in fooling with it.

Study whatever it is you're planning to trade. How does it move? How far does it have to move against you before you know you're wrong? If that's more than you want to pay, find something else. Otherwise, you know have a practical measure of your risk. Whether or not you are willing and able to assume that risk is another matter.

The so-called "risk:reward" ratio is an illusion. Unless you have some way of determining the probabilities of reaching your reward and of paying your risk obligations, there's no point in fooling with it.

Study whatever it is you're planning to trade. How does it move? How far does it have to move against you before you know you're wrong? If that's more than you want to pay, find something else. Otherwise, you know have a practical measure of your risk. Whether or not you are willing and able to assume that risk is another matter.