USDJPY weakness

dptrader

So the USDJPY is nearing that 75 mark where the BOJ stepped in with force last time. The fundamentals still point to a stronger yen, as do the technicals, and the pair is a month off the time that it took to break out of its previous trading range in June 2011. BOJ have stepped in at lower levels each time, hoping for natural support, but Japan's deflation just supports their ability to print an infinite amount of money to pay off their debts (unlike the US, which risks hyperinflation if it tried to implement the same policy). The full reasoning was here.

The Final Trade

A few traders I know are bullish, on the basis that Europe is containing its crisis, but depressed T-Note yields aren't signalling any slippage in demand for safe haven assets yet. I'd say short it until 75, and then take profits with any sharp falls, in anticipation of possible BOJ action.

Any thoughts anyone?

Hello
I am a newbie on here so hi to all.
I was also wondering about the USD JPY. I trade cfd's as a hobby, usually on the Aussie 200 or the Ftse, but with some hedging via forex / gold to help with any...erm mental things that happen from time to time!

Regards to USD JPY I hold a tiny position in the late 76's range which clearly it looks like it will be hammered in the next 24 / 48 hours. I'm going to take the risk (as the position is small) that the BOJ are going to get angry again if things get worse and step in - could get my fingers burnt but we shall see...

Keeping my eye on GBP NZD at the moment as the market appears to be choosing to price in some things and not others - what level would ppl be buyers of gbp vs nzd in this market (if at all)?

I'm long the USD/JPY at 76.75 as a long term play. I will add more every time it goes down 100 points.

Make no mistake the BOJ will step in at these kind of levels. I've caught it the last couple of times with a short term trade and hope to do so again.