TD Waterhouse

Brandycreek

Hi have just opened a trading account with TD Waterhouse but after reading some posts on this forum am now starting to wonder if they are too expensive, especially for day trading. They charge £12.50 a trade so a buy sell would cost £25.00. Higher volume price is £9.99 so still around £20.00. Plus of course UK taxes. Anyone else use them or know anything about them? Im wondering if I should close this account before I start. Are there any better (sound) alternatives for someone in the UK.

Ok, so I'm a newbie as the title suggests. Would like to hear from more experienced members if that is a fair/good/average price for trades. I thought I saw posts from others on these forums that were suggesting they paid a whole lot less. Am I mistaken? It's just I thought I saw someone post they paid $3.50US per trade which is a huge difference. Was I just dreaming?

UK equities. Its just that many on the net have suggested when starting out to start small with trades of 50-100 to get a feel of things. Even TD Waterhouse in their explanations say that you may put a bid in for 100 shares and only get 50. Doing my sums, if I purchase 50 or 100 shares of stocks I'm interested in, then £20-25 is a big chunk of their value and there goes any profit. Of course the answer is buy more stocks. But why do so many give advice to start by buying small amounts? I've also seen clips on you tube with day traders doing trades at home making small profits on trades that obviously add up nicely. But tehy must be paying a whole lot less per trade or there would be no profit.

Last edited: