Super-Basic FOREX question

Jools57

Hi guys - I'm a Forex newbie. I started looking at Forex as a potential activity back in February, and so have had time to put some study in and have been reasonably successful on the two demoe platforms that I have tried.

However, there is one VERY fundamental question that still puzzles me - Why are forex rates quoted as, for example : EUR/USD - bid 1.5745, ask 1.5748 and yet when I want to change currency at my bank the figures are quoted as 1 EUR = 1.5745USD and 1 USD = 0.6350EUR ? The way forex rates are quoted tell me that for 1 USD I would get 1.5748 euros ......... I'm puzzled, puzzled, puzzled ....... until i understand this question I have a sneaky but strong suspicion that some/most of my virtual trading successes still involve elements of luck and guesswork.

Great to have found the forum BTW.

The way forex rates are quoted tell me that for 1 USD I would get 1.5748 euros

Jools, as far as I understand it -

1 unit of the first currency is roughly equal to the bid/ask amount of the second currency.

so eur/usd b/o about 1.5747 so 1 euro = app 1.5747 dollars

and if you see the pair quoted as usd/eur the b/o will be roughly 0.635

so 1 dollar will buy app 0.635 euros.

Hi Rachel - thanks for the welcome. You too pseudo-straddle, for the answer. I'm afraid I'm still puzzled - forex rates are always very close - as in the example given above - EUR/USD bid 1.5745 ask 1.5748 and yet bank/bureau de change rates are always much more different - 1.5745 against 0.6350.

I believe that I understand the concept of bid and ask prices in forex - I just don't understand why forex quotes a pair at 1.5745/1.5748 and banks quote 1.5745/0.6350. I can't seem to rationalise that discrepancy.