Qualifications needed?

tomhunter

Hello

Im interesting in going down the trader courier path and have afew questions:

Im currently studying A levels doing Business, economics and ICT

Should i be doing maths? It looks like lots of universities want it in order to do economics courses?

Thanks

Ps. What are the trading companies looking for more highly regarded qualifications or someone who can already trade profitably?

tomhunter said:
Hello

Im interesting in going down the trader courier path and have afew questions:

Im currently studying A levels doing Business, economics and ICT

Should i be doing maths? It looks like lots of universities want it in order to do economics courses?

Thanks

Ps. What are the trading companies looking for more highly regarded qualifications or someone who can already trade profitably?
One needs zero qualifications. You just need to know exactly what your talking about or be more capable then the next person.
I would say economics is a waste of time if you want to trade. Mechanical engineering or Gas/ desiel engine mechanics.

One needs to be able to back engineer and forwards work the mechanics of the markets. You really need to be able to visualise how products mesh and move each other like the gears in a car engine.

DT
:)

Last edited:
Thinking it over, I think the statement 'waste' of time was a poor choice of words.

No education is a waste of time. I commend you on your accomplishments so far and think you have alot of integrity for wanting to follow what would be thought of as the 'normal route'.

I just think that 99% of what will be covered in Eco/Fin degrees will have no relevance to actual trading.

Tom, deep down you already know everything you need to know to trade. You just need to be able to filter out what it is that has no relevance.

As for math, it's not more complicated than basic math skills.

The thing to study is spreads and butterflys.