Ok Need Lots of Advice! I'm serious about this..

markpetrovski

1) say i want to start trading for a living.. realistically could I do that with a stake of £100k without having to go crazy on risk

2) i used to be a bond trader but don't know the first thing about equities trading. What would you recommend to read/courses to go on.

3) which products do you recommend to trade.. cfds/options/individual equities/indexes/forex, a mix? and which company to go with IG futures/ Charles Schwab

4) It seems to me this whole thing is a non-starter if once i manage to make any money on it it will be subject to capital gains tax.. would setting up an offshore account work? and could i remit money back easily to the uk without too much hassle..

You sure you are an 'ex-bond trader' because if so you shouldn't really have to ask the questions as they're very basic for an experienced market operator...............

However -

1) Yes
2) You shouldn't need to go on any course as for books go to the big bookshop on Picadilly (circus end)
3) Impossible to answer, for some trades cfds are best, others options and others forex - again, if you are an ex-bond trader the question you're asking is stupid
4) Don't make money then, then no tax to pay......As for setting up an offshore account and bring it back, sure it's possible but illegal if you live in the UK plus there's about a 99% chance the tax-man will find out.

You sure you are an 'ex-bond trader' because if so you shouldn't really have to ask the questions as they're very basic for an experienced market operator...............

Too harsh.

Bond guys and equity guys trade from very very different perspectives, the most basic elementary one being equities trade on price, bonds guys look at yield.

Too harsh.

Bond guys and equity guys trade from very very different perspectives, the most basic elementary one being equities trade on price, bonds guys look at yield.