Newbie Question: Am I completely wrong?

dkong

Hi all,

I am a complete newbie at options . So, I just want to run a trade by you guys to see if what I am saying is right:

I am expecting GE to be around $20 by Jan 2012, so I'm thinking of buying a CALL option with a strike price of $17.50.

Currently, the asking price is $0.92.
Say, I bought 10 contracts, that will cost me $920 + commission.

So, my maximum loss will be $920 + commission and my breakeven price is $17.50 + $0.92 = $18.42

Let's say in Jan 2012, the price is $20, so my profits will be:
( $20 - $18.42 = $1.58 ) x 1000 = $1580

Is there anything else I should know that might happen between now & Jan 2012 that might affect the value of the contract?

Many thanks!

- dkong

Hi all,

I am a complete newbie at options . So, I just want to run a trade by you guys to see if what I am saying is right:

I am expecting GE to be around $20 by Jan 2012, so I'm thinking of buying a CALL option with a strike price of $17.50.

So, my maximum loss will be $920 + commission and my breakeven price is $17.50 + $0.92 = $18.42

Is there anything else I should know that might happen between now & Jan 2012 that might affect the value of the contract?

Many thanks!

- dkong

your break-even points are correct. This strategy offers you limited risk and unlimited profit potential.

If you are new to options I would not suggest holding the contracts through expiration unless you don't mind having 1000 shares.

When selecting your strike make sure there is liquidity around it. If liquidity is weak then you will have a wide bid/ask spread.

Compare it to volume and open interest amongst the other strikes.

Since this is a directional trade it is important that you know where volatility is. If volatility drops on the call side than that is going to make your option worth less all things being equal.