New Day Trader - Help Needed!

jad8688

Hi Everyone,

I am relatively new to day trading and I am currently trying to learn the basic's trading quality US stocks.
The main methodology I have been using is looking for key price levels and trading with the direction of the trend. I have mainly been using Fib levels, pivot points and other longer term price levels to determine those 'key areas'.

However, I just don't seem to be going anywhere with this and although my trades seem to look good in theory they tend to move away from me the majority of the time!

For example here is a trade I tried this afternoon which I was consequently stopped out on. I have been using the 5 minute and 15 minute charts as well as the daily going for a top-down approach.

The reasoning behind this trade on V, was to enter on a pull back after the price broke through R1 and pulled back to the 23.60% fib level. I have attached the chart below with the green arrow showing my entry and the red arrow indicating my exit.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
James

Attachments

• Visa Trade.pdf
    50.4 KB · Views: 423
there are many things to consider and you have not told us enough about your approach for anyone to help you, from the sound of things its very discretionary which means no one can really help you with it.

HAve you got a clear checklist/plan before entering a trade (written) if you do put it up and someone might be able to help you, if you dont then thats the first thing you should do.

As for your visa trade it looks like you have identified an an uptrend on the 5m late yesterday evening. what made you think the move would continue today?

Hi James, I agree with VACO, it's pretty tough because everyone is different when using a discretionary system. Here's a few ideas that I follow that may/maynot help.