Moving averages

jonboy123

Hi, im fairly new to trading, reading up on moving averages now.

What kind of moving averages are you people using?
A book I have says to only use EMA's , around 10EMA to 20EMA.

Should I begin with one moving average? Or have two or three diff ones on a single chart?

Another website suggests 10SMA with 30EMA with 200MA all together.

When you select 20MA in the selection box, and youre looking at a daily chart, that means 20 days, right? But when you are looking at a weekly chart, does that same 20MA setting mean 20 weeks?

Does anyone use moving average lines as support and resistance zones?
Do people make buy and sell decisions around the moving average line, depending on the slope?

Any thoughts/advice/help most welcome.
Thankyou.

Hi, im fairly new to trading, reading up on moving averages now.

What kind of moving averages are you people using?
A book I have says to only use EMA's , around 10EMA to 20EMA.

Should I begin with one moving average? Or have two or three diff ones on a single chart?

Another website suggests 10SMA with 30EMA with 200MA all together.
It really doesn't matter. Choose at random. Fib values are fashionable. The ones you mention are well documented and many use them so you’ll be in good company.

When you select 20MA in the selection box, and youre looking at a daily chart, that means 20 days, right? But when you are looking at a weekly chart, does that same 20MA setting mean 20 weeks?
Exactly. The same as on a 9 minute chart or a 3 day chart. All equally useful.

Does anyone use moving average lines as support and resistance zones?
MAs are a derivative of price – they happen AFETR the price happens. They (the price data) are completely unaware of the MA presence. Only traders know they are there…So you use them that way if you want. They’ll seem to work as often as not.
Do people make buy and sell decisions around the moving average line, depending on the slope?