Is there a name for this pattern?

I've looked in a few different books about charting and TA, and can't really make any of those labels fit this pattern, although I see it happen pretty regularly in the EUR/USD. Todays pattern was down, but of course I often see it going the other way too...

The upper and lower bounds of the price action generally follow a path similar to the 2 blue arcs I've drawn on the chart - I know some of the price isn't completely contained in those arcs, but hey - I'm not an artist....you get the idea..

Is there a name for this? It most often comes after a breakout, and the first part along the left edge of the chart is often much steeper than today's example, and it most often just loses steam and enters a sideways channel about 8-15 pips wide....

Today's action came after a reversal and instead of going sideways ,continued to make a rounded bottom and the price retraced nearly to place it was when the reversal occurred.

Thanks,
JO.

Attachments

• patternX.gif
    patternX.gif
    76 KB · Views: 583
the nearest pattern that I can make out is a "cup and handle".

Cup maybe, but no handle yet......!?

It's a 'rolling bottom' imho - sometimes mentioned on ChartMans Dow threads......

(the opposite of a 'rolling top'.......... ;) )

TS,

I stand corrected. Havent heard of a rolling bottom or top !

Thanks folks. Look what's developing. .. It sure looks like a cup and handle...
JO

Attachments

• cupAndHandle.gif
    cupAndHandle.gif
    91.4 KB · Views: 443
I would just call it a sideways market. while it caught it's breath and decided which way next.

Forever a fan of K.I.S.S. me :LOL:

I would call it a cup with a bullish handle under construction (descending triangle under construction?). 1.2785 should be a bottom before it turns up towards 1.30

MaxPain - So far, so good....How did you come up with those numbers?
JO

Attachments

• cupAndHandle2.gif
    cupAndHandle2.gif
    75 KB · Views: 400