Interviews, no jobs, unpaid internship?

PeteyG

Hi Guys,

Like many out there, I am looking for jobs in trading but just finishing college. I have had a number of interviews and usually reach the 2nd or 3rd rounds but unfortunately fall thereafter.

My background is in maths and economics but the reason tends to be that I don't have C++, Java etc. Feedback tends to be that I give a strong interview and complete tasks and assessments very well but that they don't have time to train me without the necessary programming skills with budgets being so tight. Other final round candidates tend to have these programming skills along with a masters/Phd or top tier college behind them but I am gaining experience in interviews. That said I do have programming skills in Stata and R but does not seem to make a difference, rant over.

Anyway, applying for a masters but have an interview for a boutique tradingfirm, 3/4 month internship, but unpaid. Job description is:

"Interns do what ever needs to be done in the office from trading floor responsibilities and errands to administrative jobs. An internship will give you a broad understanding of the various aspects of the trading floor and the industry"

What do you guys think? At the moment I am going on any experience is beneficial and to keep the CV ticking over. The only people I have seen from my year getting jobs are the accountants and from digging around, an unpaid internship is the only likely option for the Summer.

Thanks for the help.

Hello PeteyG,

Though I don't work as a trader (personal aim is to trade but currently stuck in rutt as a broker)