Interpreting options colour coded quotes and figures

bigears

Hi,

Pardon my ignorance as I’m new to this. I have attached a screen grab from ADVFN showing Liffe MAR 05 for BT.A. What does the colours Blue, Green and Red signifies?

I have also enclosed the Liffe version of this which does not have colour coding. What are Autoquote figures (AQ) used for ?

Thank you for your patience.

Attachments

• bt.jpg
    bt.jpg
    72.6 KB · Views: 677
  • bt1.jpg
    bt1.jpg
    71.9 KB · Views: 922
Generally speaking screen quote colour codes usually mean the following..

Blue= higher
Red=lower
Green=unchanged

bigears said:
Hi,

I have also enclosed the Liffe version of this which does not have colour coding. What are Autoquote figures (AQ) used for ?

Thank you for your patience.

Autoquote is a computer system which continuously calculates theoretical option prices using models developed jointly by Euronext.liffe and market participants. Euronext.liffe disseminates Autoquote prices for most LIFFE Market financial, equity and index option series. Autoquote prices are not firm but ensure model variables such as volatility are set correctly in order to keep model prices in line with LIFFE Connect prices

Autoquote will therefore give you theoretical prices, but in reality the true market prices will normally be well within the spreads quoted by Autoquote.

Basically you should not be trading at any price higher than then Autoquote offer or lower than the Autoquote bid.

Many thanks Airthrey for your reply. As to the colours (in the 'last' column), Is it at all possible that they are employed to distinguish buying a call from selling a call with a blue for a buy (long) and a red for a sell (short). Similarly for a put blue for a buy and red for a sell?
Other than this, how would one know if the last transaction was a buy or a sell?

Thanks again.

bigears said: