Idb & Market Making - London??

tonaynet

Hi All,

just wondering how tough things are in London at the moment.

I currently work as a equity dealer covering Irish, Uk & Us markets.At 24, I have two years experience, undergrad degree and currently manage a regional office of an Irish investment firm. I also have fsa reg & imc under my belt

The girlfriend is going to college there next year, so I decided to take a chance and see how things go.

I would be very interested in IDB OR market making i.e wins etc. I am open to junior roles just to get a foot in the door.
How difficult is it to find work at the moment? and what are my chances breaking into IDB or market making, I believe its all who one knows?

theres not many junior roles being advertised but supposedly there are still roles around... i'd think with your qualifications you'd be best approaching the companies directly with your cv and trying to find them that way or is there no chance of using some of your industry contacts?

Are you speaking to any of the Market makers in London?

If not are you friendly with any of the dealers that are?

If so subtly say that you're thinking about movig to London and would need a job.

Or find out who's the best person to send your CV to otherwis it'l get lost in HR

how did you get on looking for market making positions in london?
I am currently looking for similar junior roles, have both unit 1 regs/unit 2 securities but not much experience as have been caught up in the crap end of the market with dodgy small cap brokers.
I am currently working for a top 4 american bank in its compliance department, any tips/guidance would be greatly appreciated.

how did you get on looking for market making positions in london?
I am currently looking for similar junior roles, have both unit 1 regs/unit 2 securities but not much experience as have been caught up in the crap end of the market with dodgy small cap brokers.