Gbp/usd

jon1971

Hello Boys & Girls,

My first post here, so please be gentle.

For those who give a toss, I have been trading FTSE 100 stocks for about 6 months and have a strong technical bias, so I know a little about chart analysis.

This week I decided to get my feet wet with forex trading, as I'm new to it, I'm primarily dealing spot minis.

After a strong start (I made $700 off of a 2 contract trade) I have consistently lost money. So I have gone back to basics and am taking a systematic approach.

The behavior of currencies is very different to stocks IMO, much quicker moves and less predictable. I tend to sell short against the trend (trying to find the tops of intra-day rallys). This I believe is where I'm going wrong, I get a head and shoulders or a triple or more top (on a 1 or 2 minute chart) I go short, the price drops a bit but then just pushes on up and steam rollers my stop.

Guys I know the trend is your friend and blah, blah, blah, but seriously where am I going wrong??

Any advice would be appreciated. Also I notice price has pushed to the yearly high, but my chart and dealing screen is saying market closed (I thought it was open 24hrs) it's 6am here in the UK, when does the market re-open?

Cheers, Jon

All markets close for the weekend and Forex opens up late Sunday night.

You can't draw conclusions from chart patterns from the 1 or 2 minute charts - that's just random noise and gambling. Use the 15 minute or 30 minute charts for something more meaningful. Trying to find tops and bottoms is a route to failure. You need to join the moves, not anticipate new ones.

All markets close for the weekend and Forex opens up late Sunday night.

You can't draw conclusions from chart patterns from the 1 or 2 minute charts - that's just random noise and gambling. Use the 15 minute or 30 minute charts for something more meaningful. Trying to find tops and bottoms is a route to failure. You need to join the moves, not anticipate new ones.