E-Mini - basic understanding

dzhu

Hi,

I'm a newbie in the world of futures trading.

I'm interested in the E-mini S&P500 futures contract.

I have read a few intros on E-mini, but a few questions lingers to be answered:

1. Does the delivery price of the contract correlate to the real S&P500 index on the day of the delivery? - if I had bought a contract e.g. @ 1000, and held it until the delivery day, how is the profit/loss calculated - has the actual value of the S&P500 index got anything todo with the calculation of the profit/loss?

2. Is there any correlation between the contract price and the real S&P500 index value?

3. What type of investors actually invest in the emini? - e.g. technical traders (e.g. intraday traders who relies more on the technical analysis rather than the fundamentals), fundamental traders (who have a longer hold on the contract), etc?

Thanks in advance and sorry if these questions are dumb...

Hi,

I'm a newbie in the world of futures trading.

I'm interested in the E-mini S&P500 futures contract.

I have read a few intros on E-mini, but a few questions lingers to be answered:

1. Does the delivery price of the contract correlate to the real S&P500 index on the day of the delivery? - if I had bought a contract e.g. @ 1000, and held it until the delivery day, how is the profit/loss calculated - has the actual value of the S&P500 index got anything todo with the calculation of the profit/loss?

2. Is there any correlation between the contract price and the real S&P500 index value?

3. What type of investors actually invest in the emini? - e.g. technical traders (e.g. intraday traders who relies more on the technical analysis rather than the fundamentals), fundamental traders (who have a longer hold on the contract), etc?

Thanks in advance and sorry if these questions are dumb...

Have you checked the CME website? There is a lot of stuff about this kind of thing on there: CME Group - Futures & Options Trading for Risk Management .