CMC Markets

alanp314

Hi everyone.
Does anyone use CMC markets?
I have been using there demo platform for CFD's and seems quite ok.
My demo expires today and I can open an account with just £1,000.

Any info would be great.

Thanks

I have just opened an account with CMC Markets. It generally seems fine but temporarily yesterday afternoon the prices didn't seem to be updating at least I couldn't close out a [losing] FX trade when I wanted to. I also use IG Index and I would say I have two main observations about using those platforms with FX:
1) IG Index prices update more frequently
2) News feed for CMC Markets seems better with alerts for key news items

One final comment about preference; I like to be able to set the stop when I do the trade but on the CMC platform it seems to be a two step affair 1) execute trade 2) set stop loss. Whereas on IG Index I can set the stop at the same time as executing the trade.

Hi Alan,

I have been using cmc for about six years, no complaints so far other than the odd blip here but nothing major. Not very good for uk indices because of spread and their own marketmaking but dax and dow are very tradeable. Forex is also fine. Shares is excellent.

I have just opened an account with CMC Markets. It generally seems fine but temporarily yesterday afternoon the prices didn't seem to be updating at least I couldn't close out a [losing] FX trade when I wanted to. I also use IG Index and I would say I have two main observations about using those platforms with FX:
1) IG Index prices update more frequently
2) News feed for CMC Markets seems better with alerts for key news items

One final comment about preference; I like to be able to set the stop when I do the trade but on the CMC platform it seems to be a two step affair 1) execute trade 2) set stop loss. Whereas on IG Index I can set the stop at the same time as executing the trade.