Career change - Army to Finance?

GavH

Hi folks, I've been lurking for a short while now and thought I'd best get involved with an intro-cum-request for advice!

I'm currently a serving UK Army Officer considering the move from my current profession into the world of finance, ideally Wealth Management or something similar. I joined the army at 19 with only basic quals (Scottish Highers - 'almost' A Level equivalent and a CII Certificate of Proficiency from when I worked for what was then Royal Sun Alliance) and I've since risen to the rank of Captain and gained a couple of Diplomas along the way (in Management Studies and Administrative Management) as well as sat a couple of the Certificate level CIMA exams. I'm currently studiying the IMC and hope to sit the two exams over the Easter period when I'm on leave.

My main question is what qualifications are best for someone with no experience in Commercial Finance beyond two years in General Insurance and Retail Banking prior to joining the army? I've chosen to study the IMC as it has come recommended as something of a benchmark qualification. Upon succesful completion of the IMC my options at present appear to be:

CFA - Level 1 + IMC = RDR Compliant. I recently met a TA Officer who owns his own Wealth Management firm and who reckoned now is a good time to join the industry because of the RDR (people unwilling to gain the higher level award for potentially less returns if I understood him correctly?). IMC Unit 2 apparantly covers a good chunk of the CFA Level 1 course and having already studies Law, Ethics, Economics and Financial Maths in the CIMA course, I reckon not all of the CFA Level 1 will be new to me.

CIMA - Continue with my CIMA studies. A simple job search with the word 'CIMA' generates significantly more returns than 'IMC' or 'CFA' however accountancy just didn't flick my switch.