Broker or Trader job?

ftse22

So I took everyones advice and passed the SII Regulations and Securities exams. Securities was a tricky one. Anyway posted my C.V the other day and started to get calls. The recruiters are asking me what salary I am looking for and what type of exact position and I don’t know how to answer them? My background is sales and I do like selling and don’t mind making calls, however I want to really understand the markets now and start analysing movements, economic data, and political data and eventually make my own recommendations to clients. I would like to get a Bloomberg Terminal as opposed to just a phone and be mentally engaged and really delve to another level.

Should I be asking for a broker position or a trader position or a hybrid position? In the phone calls so far I know I can get some positions that just involve dialing all day but how about trading.

Can anyone advise?

Last edited:
"Must spread it around..."

Spot on advice there, no-one can tell you what to do with your life. The two jobs are entirely different; I've worked as a broker in a different industry before and, while I was good at it, I found it to be completely brainless. If you enjoy sales you'll probably be OK with it, it depends on what you want.

Being a broker is simply a numbers game; you've worked in sales before so you know this, but it's a fact; unless you're just crap at your job, you can be confident that if you hammer out 40-odd quality calls a day, you'll make money. You just have to decide whether you can see yourself dialling out 100 times a day, watching DVDs on cold calling and listening to other sales people bitch for x hours a day. As GJ says, no-one can tell you whether that's for you or not; I can only offer my experience as a guide, and for me the job was not mentally challenging at all, which is why I left.