Beginners guide to system creation??

hammer

Hi,

As the title suggests is there any sort of beginners guide around? I've done a bit of reading which has led me to the tradestation website but i'm not a programmer so wouldn't really know where to start. CMC who I use for spreadbetting have a tool within their platform to allow for backtesting also however again it seems I need to know some code to use it. Is there a specific programming language I should look to learn to successfully program a system? I know some basic VBA and SQL.

Can anyone tell me where a good place to start is? Maybe a platform and even some example systems so I can see the code, what it is doing and analyse the results.

Thanks

Hi hammer,

You can use my app to create you system. It uses a kind of C/C++ and it comes with a sample MA-crossover-strategy. This can show you how things work. You will also find a short video to show you how to access the IB-datafeed and how to start the strategy. It uses IB-Datafeed, backtesting will be available in one of the next releases. If you want to give it a try (it’s free :) ), here is the link:
Start: TradeProject

If you run into problems I will try to help you.
Daniel

Last edited:
Cheers Daniel,

Just downloaded the software and looking at the code :confused:

Guess I need an IB account to do anything with it? I'll look into opening a demo account with them tomorrow.

So is C++ definately the way to go if I want to design my own strategies? If so recommend any good sources/books to learn?

Cheers Daniel,

Just downloaded the software and looking at the code :confused:

Guess I need an IB account to do anything with it? I'll look into opening a demo account with them tomorrow.

So is C++ definately the way to go if I want to design my own strategies? If so recommend any good sources/books to learn?

Hi hammer,