Am I a good Trader

new_trader

Legendary member
I have back tested a system, I have forward tested the system and now I am trading the system with real money. I have been trading for almost 2 months and have not missed a trade. I am down 50 points on the E-mini S&P500. Despite everything that I have read and written here, I am starting to lose faith in my system, and myself. However, I am determined to stick with it until I have been trading for at least 6 months or longer, even if it means losing more money. I don’t want to give up but somehow I this is being irrational!?

Any thoughts?

No need to be kind, I can take criticism.

nt

not an unusual experience i think

firstly, the initial period of real trading should, in my opinion, be with small money and still regarded as a test. i hope this is the case as you continue.

secondly, are you absolutely sure that the entry/exit rules you established have been equally applied across the the back/forward/real tests? this may seem obvious but it needs really thorough checking. the same applies to any subsidiary conditions you may have established.

thirdly, re-examine any relevant rules/conditions you may have discarded in developing your system during your back and forward phases to see if they would have improved matters in the real trading.

fourthly, check that general market conditions were reasonably similar through the various test phases.

lastly, don't lose heart but do keep it small until things improve. if they don't - then back to the drawing board. all good fortune.

good trading

jon

barjon said:
nt

not an unusual experience i think

firstly, the initial period of real trading should, in my opinion, be with small money and still regarded as a test. i hope this is the case as you continue.