Alternative to TradeStation for back testing?

I'm a beginner.
I was about to sign up with the folks at http://www.tradestation.com so that I could backtest some ideas I have about trading the EUR/USB. Seems that for a $200 a month subscription I get their platform, historical data, datafeed, and the asme system will let me go live when I'm ready. As a newbie, I like the idea of a one-stop retail vendor, platform, feed, broker, etc.. - all in one spot. I realize that my preferences will change as I get more sophisticated.

But alas - two things seem wrong, wrong, wrong to me:
TradeStation does not allow automatic execution of Forex orders (or at least the brokers at tradestation.com won't). It seems to me that the whole point of learning about technical analysis and backtesting is to find a system that works, and a platform that is comfortable, so that you can load some cash into an account and "turn it on autopilot" when you are ready to go live. I'd like to spend my time refining my system, generally learning more about trading, and just plain old living life. I want to avoid staring at a screen, worried that if I go take a five minutes to stretch my legs, I'll miss the trigger I was waiting for... Automatic ordering seems to me to be at the heart of modern technical trading. I don't see how a human can analyze the variables and react competively if the majority of traders are using a programmable system.

Also, there is no guarantee that my orders will be filled. The paperwork they sent had pages of warnings about how I could be liable for unlimited losses in case of ...anything that goes wrong with my computer, to their software, to their computers, to the whole worldwide network, to some terrorist who farts in timbuktu. :eek: Well what's a retail broker for if they don't have guaranteed fills and stops and have some automatic way to pull the plug from their end if your margin gets too thin?