Advice on Spread Trade Systems

rmlann

Greetings

New to T2W and a beginner in trading. Looking for advice/experience on the Spread Trade Systems educational program. Looked in T2W forums but didn't find any posts. Attended one of STS' free intro webseminars, their system seems good - but I've read both strong pros and cons on the net. Basic question is can a technical person (I'm an engineer) successfully learn this type system through personal education without spending $2.5K - $9K, or does one really need the STS course? Being new to trading (and not knowing anything about options), I just don't know about spending thousands of $$ to get educated vs. hard work on my own to learn the same thing. Thanks for your help on my due diligence concerning this.

i would not waste 2.5 to 9k on any course. reading books, magazines and trade2win will cost you alot less money and you will learn more. It takes time and perseverance, but that's life. use the money for trading when you have a system in place.
i would not start of by trading options if i was new to trading, basic buy and selling of shares, rolling cash contracts or futures contracts would be where i start.

options are fine to start with imo as long as you really comprehend the price variables.

as for strategy, you may be best taking it slow by looking at seasonal patterns in comodities and taking positions accordingly. Moore Research Center - commodity futures and spread trading historical research for futures traders!

a lot of commercial options methods are based around trading time decay to collect premium due to the high 'win' rate. they dont point out this is akin to picking pennies in front of a steam roller. only a matter of time before you are sauce. better take the other side with loads of known small losses/risk, but the occasional pay day when you clean up.