Open Source Automated Trading Platform

nickelsberry

I am a professional programmer and have just recently begun building applications for an automated futures trader. After investigating a lot of the commercial systems available we decided to build one from scratch to get the most control and the best performance we could.

Then we discovered an open source project in the works called TickZoom. It seems very promising with a heavy focus on speed and performance for live and simulated trading. As a programmer new to trading I am extremely interested in getting into the source to start tinkering and see if it will meet my client's needs. Anyone familiar with the project? Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Yeah. Details are at tickzoom.org but just to save people time, it only runs off of tick data and charting and all features are driven by your trading rule models. So this is a platform for people who want to to historical testing and automate their trading using tick data. It does have a black box server for rolling out your strategies.

It won't be useful for discretionary traders at all or those who want to use bar data only.

Of course, it's free and full source to make it easier to code your strategies.

I'm the author if anyone wants to ask questions. Originally built it for myself but people urged me to share it.

Wayne

is it any better than ninjatrader or tradestation?

Well, that depends on what you want to do. On both counts people like the fact it's open source. But there's tons of open source trading tools.

Where TickZOOM really shines is when processing tick data. Neither one of those can do a decent job because they overload PC memory or take to doggone long to process ticks.

TickZOOM can process 10,000,000 ticks for 5 years of data in 40 seconds. You can watch a video demo at tickzoom.org