End of the Dow Bull Run

This is a discussion on End of the Dow Bull Run within the Indices forums, part of the Markets category; Caution - Bears Ahead I'm new to these forums, used to lurk around as the nick would suggest. I am ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3, 2007, 10:52pm   #1

Joined Jan 2007
Exclamation End of the Dow Bull Run

Caution - Bears Ahead

I'm new to these forums, used to lurk around as the nick would suggest.

I am a beginning trader who day trades equities and indices through SB firms. I am trading a small account, and have had mixed results so far.

I have been reading these forums, and note that many prominent members (and most likely experienced and sober traders) are carrying large shorts on the DJIA.

I think we can all agree that the fundamentals of the American economy aren't too good right now. I am struggling to find justification for these new highs, and have only come up with the "greater fool" theory. I'm not an investor, and I don't spend a lot of time considering intrinsic value, but I do believe that this has moved too far too fast.

My question to you all: is the bull run at an end, and if so, what indicators are going to give us an early warning to go short with acceptable risk reward? If the bull run is to continue, what scale of pullback to we want before going long?

For the really smart traders here- care to share with us if there are any other instruments which would indicate underlying weakness in the Dow, and what is the best way to take advantage of it? How will the prices of Crude, the values of GBPUSD. and other world indices lead or lag a sharp correction in the Dow.

Furthermore- where are the bears? The bulls are buying from somewhere, and not just profit taking longs. Higher highs totally unchallenged? Surely greed alone and the possibility of another February 29 2007 must surely have brought out the bears?