IMC or CFA... or both?

This is a discussion on IMC or CFA... or both? within the Home Trader forums, part of the Trading Career category; I'm a science teacher with a BSc (Hons) and PGCE in the UK and have been trading just over 10 ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 2, 2010, 1:20pm   #1

Joined Dec 2010
IMC or CFA... or both?

I'm a science teacher with a BSc (Hons) and PGCE in the UK and have been trading just over 10 years now. I have a keen interest in the mechanics of the markets and how they move and work and have read many, many books on them.

I came across CFA and looked into it and was interested in the syllabus although I am aware of its complexity and that it can be "hard". Then I came across IMC which seems less complex and can be completed in two months if you put in the efforts.

I may be just doing this for my general interests and passion for this area (wish I was directed to this when I was younger). Now at 37 and stuck in a wage trap... is there any point? But I really want to read and gain something about the financial worlds since I have been trading so long and have self trained/learned and read good books on different trading techniques, methods and about the different sectors of the markets (options, swaps, Futures, FOREX etc).

Should I, shouldn't I? IMC or CFA...or Both?! Any point at this time of my life and career; any point changing careers now? What's it like out there?

Any input most greatly appreciated
MaxiV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2010, 7:27pm   #2
Joined Jun 2009
Re: IMC or CFA... or both?

if something is easier its probably not as worth it imo.
Im a final year finance student(will be 25 in march)) and personally going for CFA.
Your current job is in teaching tho so I cant see how either will help your career as you are not in business/finance unless you plan to change soon.
37 is definitely not too late to change
Yoshie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2010, 12:25pm   #3
Joined Feb 2008