Complete Newbie looking to start

This is a discussion on Complete Newbie looking to start within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; Hello This is my first post, just looking to get some advice. In the near future (within this year) i ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 3, 2010, 1:24am   #1

2 Posts
Joined Jan 2010
Question Complete Newbie looking to start

Hello

This is my first post, just looking to get some advice. In the near future (within this year) i will be coming into some money, approximately 20k but maybe more.

A bit about me, i'm 19, currently an IT student and i finish my course this year around Easter time.

I've always found ways of making money and had a business / investment side to me and now i'm finally coming into some money i want to do something with it unlike most people my age who'd simply blow it!

Someone i know left work to start as a forex trader and is doing relatively well for themselves - but they had a lot of help from someone with a huge amount of experience.

My thought is this, I'd like to learn as much as i can about forex trading and practice using demo accounts till around easter time, then hopefully i will have learned enough to invest a small amount of money in and see what happens. I'm not going to shove 20k in an account and hope for the best - before anyone tries to accuse me of that

I'm just looking for some advice, where to start, what options are good, good platforms etc. I did try a demo account on IG markets for two weeks and managed to double my starting money but that was mostly due to sheer luck and guesswork if i'm honest.

I did read a thread about books / articles to read and whilst i will definitely have a look through those, there were just such a vast number to choose from, so if anyone could maybe advise on something a bit more specific then that would be helpful.

Thanks
investme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2010, 3:47am   #2
Joined Feb 2009