Stop losses

This is a discussion on Stop losses within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; Im a complete newbie so please ignore my ignorence! Client of mine made €100,000 from the BOI share collapse in ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 11, 2009, 12:40am   #1

7 Posts
Joined Jun 2009
Stop losses

Im a complete newbie so please ignore my ignorence! Client of mine made €100,000 from the BOI share collapse in March, with an initial investment of €10,000. Seriously risky as all the talk was about nationalisation, but he took the chance.

Anyway I always had a interest in the stcok market, but until now, i tended to focus on property. Maybe im missing something but with the stock market crash now over (hopefully), now may be a good time to get into spreadbetting. Ive done lots of research on it over the last 3 months (between 3/4 hours most evening) and I started a demo account with paddypowertrader last week. €10,000 starting and ive made about €800 so far. Ive taken small profits and cut my losses, fairly quickly. It beginners luck, im not fooling myself. But what I havnt quite mastered is the whole stop loss thing.

Can I just give an example,and please forgive me if it sounds daft. Say the Dow opens at 8750 : 8770. I want to go short. Some "experts" say to have a big stop loss, others a small one. My thinking is I would put my stop loss at say, 8790 and get out then. But why would someone put a stop of, say 9050. Surely its better to get out early?

Im sure I will look back at this question in 6 months and realise how ridiculous it sounds

Last edited by browne1230; Jun 11, 2009 at 10:33am.
browne1230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 1:01am   #2

Joined Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by browne1230 View Post