Career change

This is a discussion on Career change within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; Hey Im a 29 year old IT contractor . Ive been contracting for 5 years and are getting bored now. ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 19, 2007, 11:36am   #1

3 Posts
Joined Oct 2007
Career change

Hey

Im a 29 year old IT contractor . Ive been contracting for 5 years and are getting bored now. How easy would it be for me to get on a trainee trader scheme or have i missed the boat?

Any info would be great.
Cheers Guys
recce45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 11:43am   #2

Joined Sep 2005
Have a look at this ad:

http://jobs.efinancialcareers.co.uk/...0000195492.htm

and ask yourself honestly if you can answer the three questions at the bottom.
Jack o'Clubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2007, 10:57am   #3
Joined Oct 2007
looked into this myself... have been offered an interview but to even be able to consider it you have to be able to live on £400 for 3 months then £500 for the next 3 months... with no gaurantee of a job at the end of it all...

VERY high risk... if you are fresh out of UNI living with your parents it is a great opportunity possibly if you an get in, but for someone with a mortgage and car payments to make etc... it is virtualy impossible??? Unless you are minted already and then you wouldn't need the job anyway?!?
Rapster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2007, 11:32am   #4

Joined Sep 2005
I meant more for the OP to consider if he could hand-on-heart answer the three questions posed, rather than recommending the position itself.

Mind you, he's not been back since starting the thread so either a troll or couldn't answer the questions I guess
Jack o'Clubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2007, 1:19pm   #5
Joined Apr 2004