Which of these strategies would you trade?

jonlebon

Stategy 1:
100% return a year
30 trades per year
on average: 5W 25L
no stop losses

Strategy 2:
25% return a year
100 trades per year
on average: 80W 20L
50pts stop loss.

When I started trading, I would have said 1 and probably laughed at anyone choosing 2.
However, I would now go for 2 as emotionaly easier to handle.

Please post feedback.

There's no mention of drawdown.

On balance, 2 is preferable because with more trades, it makes it less likely that you miss a big winner (which might happen with #1... you're on holiday, you can't access internet or whatever so you miss a 20R trade).

But hold on. What's with this no stop loss for #1? That makes it a no-no as far as I'm concerned.

There's no mention of drawdown.

On balance, 2 is preferable because with more trades, it makes it less likely that you miss a big winner (which might happen with #1... you're on holiday, you can't access internet or whatever so you miss a 20R trade).

But hold on. What's with this no stop loss for #1? That makes it a no-no as far as I'm concerned.

Agreed. Trading with no stop losses, regardless of profit potential, is an instant disqualification.

#3 would be the ODT strategy:
1000's of trades per day
no drawdown (thats for amateurs)
40% annual returns - backtested on old data

Peter

Stategy 1:
100% return a year
30 trades per year
no stop losses

Strategy 2:
25% return a year
100 trades per year
50pts stop loss.

When I started trading, I would have said 1 and probably laughed at anyone choosing 2.

Please post feedback.

Neither, Strategy 1 with no S/L instantly rules it out, Strategy 2 is just as risky, even the maths says so (I've had a couple of beers tonight so correct me if I'm wrong) :

25% return a YEAR?
80 Wins?
50 Stop loss?