Spreadbet Trick or am I wrong??

Wallyuk

Hi,

Im new to trading, Poker is my game, however have recently become interested in trading forex (see http://www.trade2win.com/boards/showthread.php?t=26339 ).

Spreadbetting seems to be a great idea for a UK forex trader in terms of tax. As a poker player I don't pay tax and any way to shield any trading profit, assuming I make any, is very appealing.

The downside or so i have read on these forums, is that spreadbet firms play sneaky games, not filling orders or filling at incorrect prices, and have bigger spreads etc. This makes them less profitable and so less appealing.

I wonder if it might be possible to do as follows :

Trade a Forex acount at a regular broker, then on a weekly or monthly basis hedge the profits over onto a spread bet account, thus avoiding tax.

So say I day trade for 1 month on a specific forex broker and make 10k profit.

I then open a trade on my forex broker going long on xyz and open a trade going short on the same xyz in my spread bet account. Provided the market moves in my favour I make a 10k loss in my forex broker account and a 10k profit on my spreadbet account - I would lose some of the profit due to spread and any price discrepancies, but im sure its much less than paying tax.

If the market moved in the wrong direction, then i would have 20k in forex broker and have lost 10k in my spreadbet account. So i simply start a new hedge trade attempting to switch over the 20k.

In order to do this you would need access to significant funds in your spreadbet account, but im sure if my logic is correct it could be worthwhile.

Now i would like to say that im totally new to all this and that all of the above might be fundamentally flawed for reasons im not aware of. If this is the case I apologise for taking up your time.

Regards

Karl