SII certs, CFA or FSA....?? HELP!

spriggsy

Hi there everyone...

I have been reading this forum for a while and have learnt a lot regarding the different forms of trading etc etc.

I graduated a year ago with a MSc Finance and am really keen to get into prop trading. My question being... I am looking to do either SII (unit 1 and 4) certificates, CFA program or FSA exam... The reason being to keep myself up to scratch, demonstrate my commitment to the industry, and to give myself the best possible chance of finding a position. I am unsuer which looks the best and which will benefit me the most...? I am pretty confident that I could get through the SII cert fairly easily after looking at the content... but i want to know which is best...?

Obviously the fees differ greatly!:!:

ANy help or guidance would be greatly appreciated!!

I'd say doing the FSA exams/SII certificates in order to learn more would be a waste of time & money if you've already got an MSc & they are not required in prop trading anyway

basically you only need them if you're going to be in a client facing role and in that case you're firm will pay for you to do them anyway - aside from that don't bother

CFA may be useful to you though and is well recognized

I'd say doing the FSA exams/SII certificates in order to learn more would be a waste of time & money if you've already got an MSc & they are not required in prop trading anyway
That's true. However if you get the SII registration you might get a break in a bank... but that could be a long shot.

thanks for the info guys... i really am in two minds... i realise how competitve it is to get into Prop trading roles and i want to give myself as good a chance as possible. It takes 2/3 yrs to get through the CFA as well!!

Do you think a good option would be for me to get the Unit 4 and 6 SII certs... get a job and then study part time for the CFA... as the CFA and no tangible work experience may not be that beneficial???