Seeking advice from CFD pros

bikhod

Hi

I am an ETF speculator and I have been using ETrade US for many years.

I want to have a go at speculating on indices directly. I looked into spread betting and even tried it. But, I am not happy with brokers creating their own quotes. I want the market price. So, I am considering CFD's instead.

Is the following correct:
- CFD's commissons are quite high. How high is high?
- CFD's give leveraged exposure to the cash market and not futures markets. I.e. I can still continue doing my normal analysis of the cash markets and avoid futures altogether
- CFD's should only be considered for no more 10 weeks per position
- CFD's are very liquid (i.e. rapid entry/exit) and very tight spreads

Anything else? Are there any high quality sites/books for CFDs?

Thanks in advance

Hi,

I think I understand your question as wanting to trade indicies but not spreadbet?
CFD's are generally used for positions in equities not index trades. Some companies will offer index cfd's but the prices will be their own mix of futures and cash. No real difference to the index quotes you get from spreadbetting companies. Use futures if you want to speculate on index moves directly at the exchange.

As for equity CFD's yes the com's are rather high between 5-15bps per trade depending on the deal you have negotiated.
CFD's have a financing cost associated with them. When holding a position on margin you will be charged per day for borrowing that money, therefore they are not a suitable vehicle for long term investment.

Bikhod,

- CFD's commissions are quite high. How high is high?
Captain Haddock is broadly correct with his range, although some providers layer in an advisory service on top of this and charge accordingly. Most houses offer volume related pricing, down from their stated price.