Scaling Out Strategies

traderbrazil

Hi!
I have been daytrading futures for about 6 months (mainly YM, NQ and 6E) and I would like to improve my exit strategy.
I have just read the article below from Michael Gutmann regarding different strategies for scaling out of positions:
Calibrating Profit and Loss Strategies | Banking & Finance > Financial Markets & Investing from AllBusiness.com
I currently trade 2 or 3 contracts with a all-in/all-out strategy but I suppose that I could improve on it using multiple profit targets.
I have been thinking about setting PTs at 10 and 20-points and letting the 3rd contract run with a trailing stop.
Any ideas are welcome!

many people will try to dissuade you from this approach of multiple exits.
with a 3 car trade, they focus on the "opportunity loss" sustained by not having 3 cars open at the most advantageous exit point.
But for me, I like to focus on reducing the risk asap, by closing up to B/E (or thereabouts) asap.

On the ES, I usually trade in multiples of 3.
Example:
target 1 is 1 handle (4 "ticks")
target 2 is 2 handles (8 "ticks")
Move safety Stop to -2 (-8)
Let target 3 be a Runner.

So what can happen sometimes is a Scratch trade, (+1, +2, -2) with the +1 paying for Commissions etc
If stopped out for Scratch and the reasons for the original trade are still ok, re-enter a new trade and start again.

It works for me, but it may not be entirely suitable for you.
the point is though, BE YOUR OWN MAN - when the negative nay-sayers come on telling you to only trade all in/all out, as I'm sure they will, only YOU should decide on your own approach.

don't let yourself be swayed by anyone (including me)

good luck

many people will try to dissuade you from this approach of multiple exits.
with a 3 car trade, they focus on the "opportunity loss" sustained by not having 3 cars open at the most advantageous exit point.
But for me, I like to focus on reducing the risk asap, by closing up to B/E (or thereabouts) asap.