Python and Interactive Brokers

Big_P

Hi all,

I posted this question in another thread but it was a bit buried so I'm not sure anyone saw it.
I thought I would try again with a new thread, I hope somebody can help.

I had the idea about one year ago to try some coding. I never got stuck in but now I have more time on my hands.

The problem is, I've never done any coding before so I am starting from scratch. My trading account is with Interactive Brokers.

Again, I'm at the very beginning of this journey. I have the trading knowledge (around 12 years now) but not the coding knowledge. I doubt I would ever be able to understand how to code properly, it's just not what I'm good at. I'm leaving that to my brother-in-law who is a coding expert (but only has a basic understanding of the markets). I hoping that the combination of the two of us will produce some decent results.

However, my knowledge is so limited, I don't even understand how to connect the coding side to the trading platform. I want to get a basic understanding of this before I have my first chat with my brother-in-law so that he doesn't think I'm a complete idiot.

As I understand , using Python as my coding language and Interactive Brokers as my trading account ...

I need to download the software in which to write the code.
(from my research, IBridgePy is best suited?)

This software then needs to be linked to my Interactive Brokers API so that the code can do it's stuff .

But I also understand that the code can be linked via the 'IB Gateway' ?

What is the difference between making the direct link between my IB platform and directing through the IB Gateway?

I fully appreciate that these coding questions are the trading equivalent of "what is a candlestick?" , but we all have to start somewhere.... :)

Would anyone be kind enough to explain to me the absolute basics of connecting code to trading account, in simple layman's terms?

Many thanks,

Big P